Charged With Being an Unlicensed Driver?
Being on the revoked list means you are unlicensed in New Jersey
Written by Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. of Hanlon Niemann & Wright, a New Jersey Municipal Law Attorney
New Jersey Motor Vehicle law requires you to be licensed. In fact, the statute explicitly states, “no person shall drive a motor vehicle on a public highway in this State unless licensed to do so in accordance with this article.”
If you are found to be in violation of this law the consequences are significant. A person violating this law is subject to a fine not to exceed $500, imprisonment in the county jail for up to 60 days, and if that person has never been licensed to drive in New Jersey or any other state, he or she is subject to a fine of not less than $200 and, the court will issue an order to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles requiring that the convicted minor not be issued a driver’s license to operate a motor vehicle for a period of not less than 180 days after he or she is otherwise eligible to drive.
What if you just forgot to bring your license with you? Simple, if you can exhibit your driver’s license, insurance identification card and registration certificate, as of the day you were charged to the Judge and the judge may dismiss the charge but impose court costs.
A request by a Judge to demand your driver’s license is subject to challenge under constitutional self incrimination standards. If you are charged with being an unlicensed driver, contact Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. an experienced New Jersey Unlicensed driver lawyer toll free at (855) 376-5291 or e-mail him at firstname.lastname@example.org today. Protect your rights and your pocketbook.